Diciembre, 2020

09Dic16:0018:00Virtual EventSmart Specialisation Strategies for Sustentability in Latin AmericaA place-based innovation approach for development in transition.

Event Details

This event is organised by the European Commission’s Joint Research Centre (JRC) and the Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development, (DG DEVCO), in collaboration with the CELAC pro-tempore presidency.

Main objectives

The main objectives of this event are three fold:

  • To present the potential of Smart Specialisation to foster localised, innovation-driven sustainable territorial development, as an important milestone in the new Innovation pillar of the EU-CELAC Common Research Area (CRA).
  • To officially launch the project S4LatinAmerica as a joint action of two services of the European Commission: DG DEVCO and the Joint Research Centre (JRC). The event will allow to share detail of activities and expected outcomes, notably those addressing: (i) mapping of innovation potential, (ii) Entrepreneurial Discovery Processes, (iii) identification of pilot projects and (iv) role of sustainable dimension in place-based innovation approaches.
  • Review progress of the Smart Specialisation uptake in Latin America through results achieved by previous projects. Implicitly, the event will contribute to situate the S4LatinAmerica project as strategic action within the “Development in Transition” initiative led by the European Commission in collaboration with strategic partners such as OECD, CEPAL, SEGIB, etc.

S4LatinAmerica

The project S4LatinAmerica will be implemented under the governance of the Regional Facility for Development in transition. Its main goal is to confirm the potential of the EU Smart Specialisation policy concept to steer innovation-driven territorial development, in line with sustainable development principles. The territorial scope of the project addresses EU-Latin America cooperation by focusing on cases and practices in Mexico, Chile and Peru. Lessons learnt from other EU programmes/projects dealing with Smart Specialisation as innovation bridge between EU and América Latina y el Caribe (LAC) and regions will be also reflected.

More information

 

Date: 9 December 2020

Hour: 16:00 (Central Europe Time), 08:00 (Mexico); 09:00 (Peru); 11:00 (Chile);

Format: virtual event, zoom platform

Expected number of participants: 150 attendees

Registration link: https://ec.europa.eu/eusurvey/runner/S4_in_LatinAmerica_9dec2020

Language: Spanish and English (without translation)

more

Virtual Event Details

Event has already taken place!

Hora

(Miércoles) 16:00 - 18:00

Privacy Preference Center

X
X